Crunchy Granola Suite

20 Sep

If you can tell me where the title came from, you and I can be BFF’s.

This granola is my go-to for when I’m feelin’ all health-foody. Plus it makes my house smell like cookies. Granola for the win!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 Cups rolled oats
  • 1/3 Cup vegetable oil
  • 1 Cup mixed nuts
  • 1/2 Cup honey
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/8 Cup brown sugar
  • 1/8 Cup sugar

Ok, so those last two ingredients weren’t in the picture. I’m a fan of sweets. I may or may not still shop in the kid’s section of the cereal aisle (fruity pebbles, anyone?).

I borrowed(ish) the recipe from here and it called for vegetable oil, but obviously I swapped it out for the ol’ EVOO. Why, you ask? Would you believe it’s because I didn’t want to get out my sorta broken step ladder to reach the vegetable oil? Here’s where I could totally bust out with #shortgirlproblems. Down to business.

1. Preheat the oven to 350°.

2. Mix oats, nuts and white sugar together in a bowl.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk together honey, oil, brown sugar and vanilla extract.

4. Pour liquid mixture over oats and mix until well-coated.
– Never mind that I added my white sugar last…I was making this up as I went.

5. Spread the granola out evenly on a wax-paper covered cookie sheet.

6. Bake for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent burning and to keep it from sticking to the wax paper.

When it comes out of the oven, it may still be a bit soft to the touch. Don’t worry, it’ll harden as it cools. As it’s cooling, break it up into smaller bits or else you’ll get one cookie-sheet sized granola bar.

Yum. Look at that granola…all healthy and delicious.

Leave a Reply

