Mr. Mason Jar

10 Sep

I happen to love finding new uses for things around the house that would otherwise go unused. So when I happened upon this while browsing le interweb, I was hooked. Mason jars + super cute storage solution? Score.

This project is ridiculously cheap and easy, which happen to be two of my favorite adjectives. For projects…not for myself.

All you need to make this is:

  • 1 1×6 piece of wood, cut to 18 inches long
    → This is really up to preference, based on how far apart you want your jars spaced and how many jars you’re using. We used three jars for this project, so that’s what my measurements are based on.
  • 3 Mason Jars
  • Paint or Stain (optional)
  • 3 Large Pipe Clamps
    → Found in the plumbing section of Lowes/Home Depot
  • Screws
  • 2 Sawtooth Picture Hangers
  • One super helpful husband

I sanded the edges of my board first, just to give it a sort of imperfect look. After sanding, I spray-painted the board with two thin, even coats of my trusty favorite – Rustoleum Universal Metallic Paint in Oil-Rubbed Bronze. I also sealed mine with a clear satin poly afterwards.

Minwax is my go-to for sealing any projects. It’s super fast-drying, which works out perfectly for me since I have zero patience. Remember the dresser debacle?

After the board dried completely,  Dave attached the (open) pipe clamps to the board, equally spaced. For this step, it may be easier to pre-drill holes in your pipe clamps to make attaching easier. After attaching the clamps to the board, we put two sawtooth picture hangers on the back, just using small finishing nails.

After attaching the picture hangers, I lined up my mason jars and screwed the pipe clamps closed around them. Ours had quite a bit of clamp leftover after attaching the jars, so we just used our handy-dandy Dremel to cut the ends off. Now all that’s left to do is decide what gets the privilege of being stored in this little beauty! We use ours for cotton balls, q-tips and face cleaning pads.

Super cute, no?

One Response to “Mr. Mason Jar”

  1. FishinMommy September 10, 2012 at 5:25 PM #

    Super cute! I might have to make this.

Leave a Reply

