Hideosity – I Just Made it a Word. Part 2

6 Sep

I think I’ve recovered from the stress that was brought upon yesterday by reliving my cigarette stench nightmare. I think.

So after priming and waiting for-ev-er for the primer to completely cure, it was time to paint this sucker. I was thinking about painting it white, but we wanted Maddy’s room to be a little whimsical, so we went with a cute lime-y/minty green color. Oh, I didn’t tell you? Yeah, our baby’s name is Maddy (well, Madison). Cutest darn thing ever.

Don’t you agree?

Anyway, I digress. Rustoleum Painter’s Touch is what we used and the color is Satin Green Apple.

I like the finish of satin paint, especially for a kid’s dresser. This guy can take a beating if he needs to. Hopefully Maddy won’t be beating up on the dresser for a while though, seeing as she’s only a hair over three months old. For now, his job will be to house cute outfits, blankets and cloth diapers. Yes, we’re those people that use cloth diapers. Yes, I shave my legs and armpits.

I almost always choose spray paint over regular cans of paint. Maybe it’s because I’m lazy. I like to think that spray-painting pieces gives them a smoother look, since you don’t have brush stroke nonsensery to deal with. It took two full coats to look perfect. I think two coats used up about four cans of spray paint. This is no tiny dresser!

Whoa…hold up! Not so perfect after all. See, I have this little problem called impatience. It’s actually quite common, so I’ve heard. Anyway, I didn’t wait the full amount of time for the paint to cure before trying to mess with it, so I got the tragedy that is that top right drawer. Nothing a little sanding and repainting didn’t fix, but it was touch and go there for a minute.

Another bow to my impatience were those center drawer pulls. They’re cute little hand-painted butterflies, and I wanted to see how they’d look attached, so there ya go. I did it. They did scuff up the paint a bit beneath, but you can’t see it unless you remove the pulls, so that gets filed into the category of ‘I honestly could care less.’ That category’s a full house.

After learning my lesson with the scuffed drawer debacle, I actually almost died waiting was able to hold myself back and wait the full curing time for the paint. I put on two layers of satin polyurethane, just for extra toughness (I’m really setting myself up for failure with this kid, aren’t I?!), then let that cure fully also before attaching the drawer hardware. I must say, she shined up nice. From a yucky, cigarette stench-y mess to this cute little beauty that hopefully Maddy will enjoy for at least a few years.

Another beauty about painting this dresser is that if she decides a few years down the road that ‘green apple’ just ain’t her thang, we can just sand it down a bit, slap a different color on there and call it a day. Easy peasy lemon-squeezy.

2 Responses to “Hideosity – I Just Made it a Word. Part 2”

  1. FishinMommy September 6, 2012 at 10:53 PM #

    Hopefully she likes the green since her Mommy doesn’t like waiting for things to dry 🙂
    I can’t wait to hear about your other diy ventures. I decorate vicariously through you, madam.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mr. Mason Jar | bukebox - September 10, 2012

    […] Minwax is my go-to for sealing any projects. It’s super fast-drying, which works out perfectly for me since I have zero patience. Remember the dresser debacle? […]

Leave a Reply

